Friday, February 06, 2009

UEFA Cup squad announced

City can confirm that Nigel de Jong will not be available for selection for the UEFA Cup this season.

UEFA rules stipulate that a club can register a maximum of three new players in the January transfer window, and so it was decided that Craig Bellamy, Shay Given and Wayne Bridge would be the new signings included in the squad list submitted at the end of Sunday, February 1st.


Initially it appeared as though it was a straight choice between de Jong and Wayne Bridge for the one available spot, but as widely stated on various City forums (yet not in the media), deJong was never available because he played for Hamburg in the UEFA Cup. Bridge of course being eligible because although playing for Chelsea in Europe, it was in a different competition.

The correct ruling is as follows:

17.17 For all matches from the start of the round of 32, a club may register a
maximum of three new eligible players for the remaining matches in the
current competition. Such registration must be completed by 1 February
2009 at the latest. This deadline cannot be extended.

17.18 One player from the above quota of three who has played UEFA club
competition matches for another competing club in the current season may
exceptionally be registered provided that the player has not been fielded:

  • In the same competition for another club
  • For another club that is currently in the same competition

Furthermore, if the player’s new club is playing in the UEFA Cup, his former
club must not have played in the UEFA Cup at any point in the current

What this does indicate is just how late the loan transfer of Jo to Everton was, given he was included in the list (presumably at the expense of the soon to return Valeri Bojinov) which was submitted the day before the transfer window shut.

Our twenty-five man UEFA squad:

1 Joe Hart
13 Richard Martin
16 Kasper Schmeichel
37 Shay Given
45 Gregory Hartley *

4 Nedum Onuoha
15 Javier Garrido
22 Richard Dunne
25 Wayne Bridge
33 Vincent Kompany
36 Berti Glauber
38 Shaleum Logan *
41 Benjamin Mee *
43 Clayton McDonald *
50 Ryan Mc Givern *

2 Micah Richards
5 Pablo Zabaleta
6 Michael Johnson
7 Stephen Ireland
8 Shaun Wright-Phillips
11 Elano Blumer
17 Martin Petrov
19 Gelson Fernandes
20 Felipe Caicedo
29 Kelvin Etuhu
31 Adam Clayton *
40 Vladimir Weiss *
46 Paul Marshall *
49 Donal Mcdermott *

10 Robinho
12 Darius Vassell
14 Jô
24 Chedwyn Evans *
27 Benjani Mwaruwari
36 Daniel Sturridge *
39 Craig Bellamy

* Player list B

vote it up!

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

How on earth can a club like manchester city make the mistake of not including valeri bojinov in the squad knowing full well he is on the verge of a recovery from injury. What a disgrace this is. Only city could fuck up like this.